May – October
daily 9:00 – 17:00

November till April
Tue – Sun 10:00 – 17:00


Bus parking at the city train station (in front of the Seehotel), Friedrichsstraße

Only about half an hour away from Lindau, the Zeppelin Museum invites you to visit. Directly on the shore of Lake Constance, in downtown Friedrichshafen, you can learn many exciting things about the history of German and international airship travel and the classic zeppelins. The visit is not only worthwhile for families or individual travelers, but also for groups or school classes.

Unique collection for zeppelin enthusiasts

The Zeppelin Museum is housed in a listed building in the style of Bauhaus architecture and houses around 1,500 historically significant exhibits on an area of over 4,000 square meters. This makes the exhibition the world’s most important and comprehensive collection on all aspects of airship travel from its beginnings to the present day. The highlights undoubtedly include the walk-through passenger compartments of the famous LZ 129 Hindenburg: the true-to-the-original replica is around 33 meters long and offers fascinating insights.

Object collection with international exhibits

In the object collection, the focus is naturally on Zeppelin airships. However, the development of other countries, such as Parseval and SchĂŒtte Lanz airships, are also on display. There are large technical objects such as skeletons, propellers, nacelles, high-altitude engines, gearboxes and the like on display. The historical exhibits are completed by technical drawings, construction documents, personal bequests, posters, postcards and newspapers. Informative film documentaries on the big screen provide insider information about the exhibits. You can learn even more interesting facts during one of the exciting and educational museum tours.

Technology and art from five centuries

The Zeppelin Museum’s main aim is to collect, preserve, research and communicate the technology and history of airship travel. In addition to the technical exhibits and research results in regularly changing exhibitions, however, art also plays a large and important role. Starting with works from the Middle Ages, through the Baroque period, to contemporary art, the Aviation Museum mainly features works by artists who had retreated to Lake Constance during the Third Reich. Among them are German painters such as Otto Dix, Max Ackermann and Willi Baumeister, as well as photographer Andreas Feininger. The works of art from five centuries are set in relation to Zeppelin history.

Technology and art at a glance

  • 10 – 20 persons per group
  • from 75 € per group plus entrance fee of 10 € per person
  • 1,5 hours
  • German, English, French, Italian, Spanish (foreign language at extra charge)
  • Overview tour through the areas of technology and art to the highlights of the two-section house with the world’s largest collection on airship travel and top-class art from the Lake Constance region

Zeppelin history

  • 10 – 20 persons per group
  • From 75 € per group plus entrance fee of 10 € per person
  • 1,5 hours
  • German, English, French, Italian, Spanish (foreign language at extra charge)
  • Guided tour focusing on the topic of airships in the context of technical and cultural history, tour of the museum,
  • Entry into the reconstructed passenger compartments of the LZ 129 Hindenburg, exploration of the Zeppelin

Art and architecture

  • 10 – 20 persons per group
  • from 75 € per group plus entrance fee of 10 € per person
  • 1,5 hours
  • German, English, French, Italian, Spanish (foreign language at extra charge)
  • Guided tour with focus on the special Bauhaus architecture of the Zeppelin Museum (former harbor station from the 1930s) as well as the modern design of the furniture and the wall paintings in the “Hindenburg”, viewing of selected works from the art collection of the Zeppelin Museum

Guided tour of the respective temporary exhibition

  • 10 – 20 persons per group
  • from 75 € per group plus entrance fee of 10 € per person
  • 1 hour
  • German, English, French, Italian, Spanish (foreign language at extra charge)
  • Guided tour through the current special exhibition on socially relevant issues, focusing on individual artists, technical developments or social issues

opening hours

May – October
daily 9:00 – 17:00

November till April
Tue – Sun 10:00 – 17:00


Parkmöglichkeit

Bus parking at the city train station (in front of the Seehotel), Friedrichsstraße

Mai bis Oktober
tĂ€glich 9:00 – 17:00 Uhr

November bis April
Di – So 10:00 – 17:00 Uhr


BusparkplĂ€tze am Stadtbahnhof (vor dem Seehotel), Friedrichsstraße

Nur rund eine halbe Stunde von Lindau entfernt lĂ€dt das Zeppelin Museum zum Besuch ein. Direkt am Bodenseeufer, in der Innenstadt von Friedrichshafen, können Sie viel Spannendes ĂŒber die Historie der deutschen und internationalen Luftschifffahrt und die klassischen Zeppeline erfahren. Der Besuch lohnt sich nicht nur fĂŒr Familien oder Einzelreisende, sondern auch fĂŒr Gruppen oder Schulklassen.

Einzigartige Sammlung fĂŒr Zeppelin-Liebhaber

Das Zeppelin Museum ist in einem denkmalgeschĂŒtzten GebĂ€ude im Stil der Bauhaus-Architektur errichtet und beherbergt rund 1.500 historisch bedeutsame Exponate auf ĂŒber 4.000 Quadratmetern FlĂ€che. Damit bildet die Ausstellung die weltweit bedeutendste und umfangreichste Sammlung zu allen Aspekten der Luftschifffahrt von ihren AnfĂ€ngen bis in die Gegenwart. Zu den Highlights zĂ€hlen zweifelsohne die begehbaren PassagierrĂ€ume der berĂŒhmten LZ 129 Hindenburg: Der originalgetreue Nachbau ist rund 33 Meter lang und bietet faszinierende Einblicke.

Objektsammlung mit internationalen Exponaten

Bei der Objektsammlung liegt der Schwerpunkt naturgemĂ€ĂŸ auf den Zeppelin-Luftschiffen. Doch auch die Entwicklung anderer LĂ€nder, wie beispielsweise Parseval- und SchĂŒtte Lanz-Luftschiffe, werden gezeigt. Hier gibt es technische Großobjekte wie Gerippe, Propeller, Gondeln, Höhenmotoren, Getriebe und Ă€hnliches zu sehen. Komplettiert werden die historischen Exponate durch technische Zeichnungen, Konstruktionsunterlagen, persönliche NachlĂ€sse, Plakate, Postkarten und Zeitungen. Aufschlussreiche Filmdokumentationen auf großer Leinwand geben Insider-Infos zu den Exponaten preis. Noch mehr Wissenswertes erfahren Sie bei einer der spannenden und lehrreichen MuseumsfĂŒhrungen.

Technik und Kunst aus fĂŒnf Jahrhunderten

Das Zeppelin Museum möchte vor allem die Technik und Geschichte der Luftschifffahrt sammeln, bewahren, erforschen und vermitteln. Neben den technischen Exponaten und Forschungsergebnissen in regelmĂ€ĂŸig wechselnden Ausstellungen spielt allerdings auch Kunst eine große und wichtige Rolle. Angefangen bei Werken des Mittelalters ĂŒber den Barock bis hin zu zeitgenössischer Kunst finden sich in dem Luftfahrt-Museum vor allem Werke von KĂŒnstlern, die sich wĂ€hrend des Dritten Reiches an den Bodensee zurĂŒckgezogen hatten. Darunter sind u.a. deutsche Maler wie Otto Dix, Max Ackermann und Willi Baumeister sowie der Fotograf Andreas Feininger. Die Kunstwerke aus fĂŒnf Jahrhunderten werden in Bezug zur Zeppelingeschichte gesetzt.

Technik und Kunst im Überblick

  • 10 – 20 Personen pro Gruppe
  • ab 75 € pro Gruppe zzgl. Eintrittspreis von 10 € pro Person
  • 1,5 Stunden
  • Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Spanisch (Fremdsprache gegen Aufpreis)
  • ÜberblicksfĂŒhrung durch die Bereiche Technik und Kunst zu den Highlights des Zweispartenhauses mit der weltweit grĂ¶ĂŸten Sammlung zur Luftschifffahrt und hochkarĂ€tiger Kunst aus dem Bodenseeraum

Zeppelingeschichte

  • 10 – 20 Personen pro Gruppe
  • Ab 75 € pro Gruppe zzgl. Eintrittspreis von 10 € pro Person
  • 1,5 Stunden
  • Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Spanisch (Fremdsprache gegen Aufpreis)
  • FĂŒhrung mit Fokus auf das Thema Luftschiffe im Kontext der Technik- und Kulturgeschichte, Rundgang durch das Museum,
  • Einstieg in die rekonstruierten PassagierrĂ€ume der LZ 129 Hindenburg, Erkundung des Zeppelins

Kunst und Architektur

  • 10 – 20 Personen pro Gruppe
  • ab 75 € pro Gruppe zzgl. Eintrittspreis von 10 € pro Person
  • 1,5 Stunden
  • Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Spanisch (Fremdsprache gegen Aufpreis)
  • FĂŒhrung mit Fokus auf die besondere Bauhaus-Architektur des Zeppelin Museums (ehemaliger Hafenbahnhof aus den 1930er Jahren) sowie das moderne Design des Mobiliars und der Wandmalerei in der „Hindenburg“, Betrachtung von ausgewĂ€hlten Werken aus der Kunstsammlung des Zeppelin Museums

FĂŒhrung durch die jeweilige Wechselausstellung

  • 10 – 20 Personen pro Gruppe
  • ab 75 € pro Gruppe zzgl. Eintrittspreis von 10 € pro Person
  • 1 Stunde
  • Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Spanisch (Fremdsprache gegen Aufpreis)
  • FĂŒhrung durch die aktuelle Sonderausstellung zu gesellschaftlich relevanten Fragestellungen, im Mittelpunkt stehen einzelne KĂŒnstler, technische Entwicklungen oder gesellschaftliche Themen

Öffnungszeiten

Mai bis Oktober
tĂ€glich 9:00 – 17:00 Uhr

November bis April
Di – So 10:00 – 17:00 Uhr


Parkmöglichkeit

BusparkplĂ€tze am Stadtbahnhof (vor dem Seehotel), Friedrichsstraße