The first ever biennial in Lindau is not meant to be the only one, but a prelude. For the premiere, more than 20 young, contemporary artists will deal with our earthly ideas of “paradise”.

 

The concept

IN SITU

In terms of art, IN SITU means dealing with the place “in itself”, but also with resources and the economy in urban space. Central elements of this art form are the blasting – or at least thematization – of boundaries and the anchoring of the work in the place.

PARADISE

According to religious ideas, paradise describes a place beyond the world, where people lived at the beginning of their existence, but from which they were then banished. Only a rich life – and death, of course – grant access again, so the hope. Until then, paradise is a place of seclusion, whose meaning is to be found outside our world.

IN SITU PARADISE

With the idea of an “in situ” paradise in mind, artists at the Biennale present works that relate to our perception of a place and to our ideas and strategies about public space. In this way, the location of the Biennale, the Lindau Island, becomes a “thinking space” for the examination of our ideas of paradise.

 

Enjoy Biennale

The artists’ “paradise gardens”, their sculptures and installations, will be on display at various locations in, around and on Lindau Island.

LIVE

Performances, happenings and interventions turn the island into an action space for joint projects of the artists with the citizens and visitors.

INTERDISCIPLINARY

Interdisciplinary symposium as part of the Biennale: seeing and interpreting art and science in different disciplines.

DIGITAL

An interactive map accompanies you to the artworks, provides information about the artists and exhibition venues, and of course up-to-date tips on the events: The free app “Biennale Lindau”.

PRINT

A hybrid catalog about the program and the results: In addition to documenting the exhibition, the publication will include contributions and essays from science, art, philosophy, religion, politics and society, as well as works produced especially for the print edition.

Die erste Biennale in Lindau überhaupt soll nicht die einzige bleiben, sondern ein Auftakt sein. Für die Premiere werden sich mehr als 20 junge, zeitgenössische Künstlerinnen und Künstler mit unseren irdischen Vorstellungen vom „Paradies“ auseinandersetzen.

 

Das Konzept

IN SITU

Auf die Kunst bezogen meint IN SITU die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Ort „an sich“, aber auch mit Ressourcen und der Ökonomie im städtischen Raum. Zentrale Elemente  dieser Kunstform sind die Sprengung – oder zumindest Thematisierung – von Grenzen und die Verankerung des Werkes am Ort.

PARADISE

Nach religiösen Vorstellungen beschreibt das Paradies einen Ort jenseits der Welt, an dem die Menschen zu Anfang ihrer Existenz lebten, aus dem sie dann aber verbannt  wurden. Nur ein reiches Leben – und der Tod natürlich – gewähren uns wieder Zugang, so die Hoffnung. Bis dahin ist das Paradies ein Ort der Abgeschlossenheit, dessen  Bedeutung außerhalb unserer Welt zu finden ist.

IN SITU PARADISE

Mit dem Gedanken eines „In situ“-Paradieses präsentieren die Künstlerinnen und Künstler im Rahmen der Biennale Werke, die sich auf unsere Wahrnehmung eines Ortes  und auf unsere Vorstellungen und Strategien zum öffentlichen Raum beziehen. So wird der Ort der Biennale, die Lindauer Insel, zum „Denkraum“ für die  Auseinandersetzung mit unseren Vorstellungen vom Paradies.

 

Biennale erleben

Die „Paradiesgärten“ der Kunstschaffenden, ihre Skulpturen und Installationen, werden an diversen Locations in, um und auf der Lindauer Insel zu sehen sein.

LIVE

Performances, Happenings und Interventionen machen die Insel zum Aktionsraum für gemeinsame Projekte der Künstler mit den Bürgern und Besuchern.

INTERDISZIPLINÄR

Interdisziplinäre Symposium im Rahmen der Biennale: Kunst und Wissenschaft in unterschiedlichen Disziplinen sehen und interpretieren.

DIGITAL

Eine interaktive Karte begleitet Sie zu den Kunstwerken, gibt Informationen über die Künstler und Ausstellungsorte und natürlich aktuelle Tipps zu den Veranstaltungen: Die kostenfreie App „Biennale Lindau“.

PRINT

Ein hybrider Katalog zum Programm und den Ergebnissen: Neben der Dokumentation der Ausstellung wird die Publikation Beiträge und Essays aus Wissenschaft, Kunst, Philosophie, Religion, Politik und Gesellschaft enthalten sowie eigens für die Printausgabe produzierte Arbeiten.